A cautionary tale of ‘busywork’

The following story is just one of a virtually infinite number of similar episodes in my life.


 

  • 10:30. The wife and boy have left to meet friends. I have two hours before I need to leave for work. In that time I need to cook, do the washing up, iron a shirt and check a new cycling route I’m going to try on googlemap. I reckon I can get the chores done in an hour and then have an hour chilling out reading my book.
  • 10:30 – 11:15. I cook and while the food is simmering etc, get the shirt ironed, turn on the new fast-booting laptop and check googlemap.
  • 11:15 – 11:30. I do the washing up.
  • 11:30 – 12:30. I settle onto the sofa, put my feet up and relax with my book.
  • 12:30. I leave for work relaxed.

 

At least the above is what happens in my head. This is what really happens……………….

 

  • 10:30 – 11:15. I cook and while the food is simmering etc, get the shirt ironed, turn on the new fast-booting laptop and check googlemap.
  • 11:15. I realise that my anti-virus settings could be improved so I start fiddling with them.
  • 11:30. I tear myself away to do the washing up but leave the computer on.
  • 11:45 I return to fettling the anti-virus settings on my computer and then start tying them in with my phone.
  • 12:15 I finish but now know that I haven’t got enough time to do anything meaningful before work.
  • 12:30. I leave for work annoyed at myself for wasting that potential relaxation time and in the knowledge that my ‘busywork’ hasn’t really achieved anything meaningful anyway.

I live in a virtually continuous cycle of not relaxing or enjoying free time, or not doing meaningful tasks because my internet addicted brain creates suddenly urgent busywork, chores etc (not necessarily involving the computer but I’m sure it’s a result of being permanently wired) that is suddenly of vital importance.
In theory so simple to avoid this. In reality very difficult.

 

 

Leave a Reply

